The Joseph Campbell Foundation (JCF) is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt working foundation, not a grant-making organization. JCF is run by volunteers, though certain individuals(*) sometimes receive a modest stipend for providing special services.

Working Associates

David Fox Video
Stephen L. Gerringer* Community
Timothy Hallford Rights & Permissions
David Kudler* Publications
Michael Lambert* Moderator, CoHO (English)
Jimmy Maxwell Audio
Mary L. Shapiro, Esq. Intellectual Property Counsel - Law Office of Mary L. Shapiro
Clare Ultimo* Designer
Martin Weyers* MRT Program; Moderator, CoHO (English & German)
Barbara Zdeb Bookkeeping - Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP


JCF is grateful for the help of the following with specific Foundation projects:

Lynn Tucker for performing research and preparing lecture transcripts.
Chuck Heery for organizing/editing Mythological Resources Database
Jack Adams for editing Joseph Campbell video excerpts for YouTube
Jorge Cabrales for maintaining the Joseph Campbell Myspace page
Douglas Girard for creating/maintaining the Joseph Campbell Facebook page
Carol Gunby for web consultant services

Myths To Live By Beta Testing Team:
James Baquet, Yuria Ceridwen, Brian Geremia, Carl Golembeski,
Cohen Liotta, Marcus Rendon, Bob Wagner, Kelly Wyatt, Louis Ziegler


Regular Donors

Bilge Aksan
Christopher Bowman
Christopher Brooks
Susan Chamberlin
Carmela Chavez
James Cosgrove
Chris Keidong
Maris Gibson
Leslie Goebel
Chris Kaidong
Debra Keil-Leavitt
Valorie Lee
Claudia Lindby
Linda McDougall
Patrick Miller
Shaheda Rizvi
Paula Sharp
Catherine Svehla
QT Tran
William R. Wiedmann

Memorial Grants

The Family Memorial Fund of the Minneapolis Foundation

The Dugan Family Charitable Fund, managed by the Vangueard Charitable Trust Program, in honor of Robert and Filomena Dugan


Joseph Campbell Foundation Fellows are individuals who have achieved success in their individual fields and volunteer their time and talent to the Foundation.

Phil Cousineau David Darling David Gonzalez
Carol Gunby Lorin Hollander Paul Horn
Chungliang Al Huang‡ David "Red" Johnson Mickey Lemle
Terry Lupton Gerald McDermott Richard Patterson
Michael Pinder

Erdman-Campbell Award

JCF’s Board of Directors on special occasions presents the Erdman-Campbell Award for Contributions to the Contemporary Mythopoetic Imagination to individuals whose life and work contribute significantly to shaping the emerging mythos, in the spirit of Joseph Campbell and his wife, Jean Erdman, award winning choreographer and modern dance pioneer.

Previous recipients:

Stewart Brand, writer, editor, futurist, creator of the Whole Earth Catalog and co-founder of The WELL.

Alexander Rose, Next Generation Visionary and director of the Long Now Foundation.

Board of Directors

Roger H. Epstein, Esq. Secretary
Katherine Komaroff Goodman Vice-President
Edward Charles Horton, C.P.A. Treasurer
Leigh Melander
David L. Miller, Ph.D.
Robert D. Wagner, Phd.
Robert Walter ° President

Emeritus Associates

Jean Erdman Campbell°, Chair Emeritus

Stephen Aizenstat Charles Brainard, Esq.‡
Keoni Fairbanks° Marjory E. Fairbanks°§ Jerome L. Goldman‡
Sam Keen‡ Robin Larsen‡ Stephen Larsen‡
John Lobell‡ George Lucas‡ Barbara McClintock‡
Anne Marie Morissette‡§ Peggy Hansen Olsen§ Terry Peay
Laurance RockefellerठLois Farfel Stark Roberto Takaoka
Alfred van der Marck‡§

° Founding Board of Directors
‡ Founding Board of Advisors
* Working Associates
§ Deceased