What is philosophy?

Do you have a conversation topic that doesn't seem to fit any of the other conversations? Here is where we discuss ANYTHING about Joseph Campbell, comparative mythology, and more!

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

nandu
Associate

What is philosophy?

Post by nandu » Mon May 24, 2010 3:06 pm

Hello everybody!

We have been shuttling the term philosophy back and forth for the past few days, so I decided to do what I love most to do... start a thread with a question.

What is philosophy?

I did a quick search on the web and came up with a lot of definitions, but they all seemed to concur on one thing: that philosophy was a "search for truth through rational speculation".

I am a newbie on the subject; I have very little knowledge of philosophy other than what has been picked up through haphazard reading. So I hope other more enlightened associates will jump into the fray with their opinions.

Let's have an open discussion.

Nandu.
Loka Samastha Sukhino Bhavanthu
jonsjourney
Associate

Post by jonsjourney » Mon May 24, 2010 7:52 pm

I did a quick search on the web and came up with a lot of definitions, but they all seemed to concur on one thing: that philosophy was a "search for truth through rational speculation". -nandu
That seems to work in my view. All other qualifiers (for example, what the debate entailed in the Atheism thread) are made to reduce the number of people we call a philosopher, and are therefore debatable...either via logic, or otherwise. But I, personally, think this is a good working definition.
"He was a dreamer, a thinker, a speculative philosopher... or, as his wife would have it, an idiot." -Douglas Adams
Neoplato
Associate

Post by Neoplato » Mon May 24, 2010 10:15 pm

philo-

Gk. philo-, comb. form of philos "dear" (adj.), "friend" (n.), from philein "to love," of unknown origin. Productive of a great many compounds in ancient Gk.

sophy