Character Power

Do you have a conversation topic that doesn't seem to fit any of the other conversations? Here is where we discuss ANYTHING about Joseph Campbell, comparative mythology, and more!

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Knightwriter
Associate

Character Power

Post by Knightwriter » Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:50 am

As a writer I am deeply interested in the power of fiction my early series relied on very large casts of one and two dimensional characters to propel them with no clear protagonists though I have since graduated to everything from coming of age stories to historical action thrillers and action driven romantic comedies. What I'm really curious to know is can characters truly have power that is do some have an inherent strength to them entirely independent of popularity or how well developed they are and if so what does this mean? I'm mostly interested in this as matter of narrative longevity but I still am very curious about characters that challenge the mighty Zeus (the storytellers) and if so can any win in a battle)
Last edited by Knightwriter on Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
FDamkar
Associate

Post by FDamkar » Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:53 pm

Well, I don't know about Zeus and the concert thing, but I can definitely agree that fictional characters can indeed have a strength to them that can propel the story forward that's independent of popularity or transformation. If their personalities or goals or whatever are what attract the reader/viewer to them and draws us into their struggles, then yes, the characters can definitely have power.