Hi all :) Seeking some options

Who was Joseph Campbell? What is a myth? What does "Follow Your Bliss" mean? If you are new to the work of Joseph Campbell, this forum is a good place to start.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

this is me
Associate

Hi all :) Seeking some options

Post by this is me » Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:05 am

Howdy!

I am looking for a bit of information/direction I suppose, and this forum seems to have a nice variety of opinions.

I have been reading about mythology from a very early age (my first name is the same as a mythological hero). Through the works of Joseph Campbell and others I have learned to explore a bit inside, and have come to find a sort of peace within myself, and with how I try to relate and work with others. Its my hobby I suppose.

I am just about 36, and want to make a change. II would like to further my pursuits in an academic setting to see how helpful and well I may be able to listen to and help others out there. I am a teacher now, and feel that I do a pretty good job of it, but would like to go into counseling/ teaching in a different field than I am in at present.

What sort of occupations are available to someone who has a fair amount of knowledge of mythology, Campbell, an interest in psychology, and can be a pretty good listener? I have a BS, but am willing to work for a MA or PhD if I can scrounge up the money. I am looking to "follow my bliss" to a feasible profession that I can find to be rewarding on various different levels

I am looking for all opinions on this one. What to study and where, what kinds of occupations are available and such.. I realize that this is a pretty broad request. Please think out of the box on this one, or even imagine that there is no box.

Thanks for taking the time to read through this post.

Kindest regards,
Me :)
this is me
Associate

Post by this is me » Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:46 am

ah shucks, 19 views and no replies :D