Mythology and Ministry?

Who was Joseph Campbell? What is a myth? What does "Follow Your Bliss" mean? If you are new to the work of Joseph Campbell, this forum is a good place to start.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Goode1
Associate

Post by Goode1 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:22 am

Hello everyone. This is my first post here, and I thought I would use it to introduce the greatest struggle I am going through as my interest builds in Myth and Joseph Campbell.

I am currently finishing my undergraduate work with the intention to go on to seminary to become an ordained minister. My major is currently Religious Studies. I figured it would be good preparation for seminary, and that I would be introduced to the world religions. My main concern was to become familiar with other religions so that I could carry on inteligent dialogue with people from faiths different from my own.

I was introduced to Joseph Campbell last semester. I took a class called Myth, Meaning, and Self, mostly because I really liked the professor, and it fit in my schedule.

Now that I have read The Power of Myth been introduced to the work of Joseph Campbell, I feel like many of the answers that I have been searching for are now attainable.