Campbell and Christian denominations

Who was Joseph Campbell? What is a myth? What does "Follow Your Bliss" mean? If you are new to the work of Joseph Campbell, this forum is a good place to start.

Moderators: Clemsy, Martin_Weyers, Cindy B.

Mr. James
Associate

Post by Mr. James » Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:22 am

I am a fresh faced philosophy student that has just had his first encounter with Joeseph Cambell and his thoughts on organized religion. Can anyone explain what his thoughts are on how the different denominations of Christianity are tearing the faith apart?
Martin_Weyers
Working Associate

Post by Martin_Weyers » Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:22 am

Welcome to the forums, Mr. James! I'm not sure if I understand your question correctly. Campbell said in Power of Myth, that he was a little bit tough on faith. "You are a man of faith" says Bill Moyers, and Campbell denies. He stresses experience instead of faith, and this is the mystical approach to religion (though Campbell uses the term mysticism not very often). I think he was tough about faith, because faith is always based on the experience (or ideology) of another one. And Christianity, in the way it is still practised, is more or less based on experiences (and idiologies) of a little tribe, a long time ago, who had to be battlesome to survive in the desert, which was populated with many other battlesome tribes.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Martin on 2004-03-20 14:21 ]</font>
Molly J
Associate

Post by Molly J » Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:22 am